MY YEAR TO GREY

Last March I decided to stop coloring my hair. I was single again, money was tight, I wasn’t getting regular hair cuts, my hair was dry… and why not just accept what God gave me? I wasn’t really sure what my natural color was, but I knew that at 30 it was much darker than I’d been coloring it. And after all, though I certainly don’t feel old, I am 55 and a little gray is hardly a crime.
The comments I get are from men my age- “so, you’ve decided to go gray…” “you really should start coloring your hair again” “old woman”…. and I suppose for awhile I had three shades of hair. But there’s something so wonderfully freeing about accepting this gift. Did it make me less attractive? Sure, to people I wouldn’t want to be attractive to. Did it make me look in the mirror and feel old? Nope, as my hair is softer and shinier. Is it easier? OH YES.
Being an artist I love to transform canvas, or clay… but I never much thought of self transformation. Now it’s a whole other ballgame. Today my hair is mostly gray. Tomorrow, who knows? But today I’m really happy.

This entry was published on January 19, 2014 at 11:37 am. It’s filed under art, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

