Theft Of One’s Soul- The Debate

picture107

Before I post my last Woman Sleeping painting, I need to vent about the whole art community group thing. I did get thrown into a group on facebook, excused myself, got re-thrown in, and I chose to not permanently excuse myself. People are posting their art and being cheered on by fellow artists of all types. I wrote in an earlier post that I struggle with feelings that everyone is doing better than I am, envy, and my pettiness and immaturity.

I need to focus on my own journey, and continue to support other artists as I have been, and not get sidetracked my insecurities.

Then the proverbial bomb dropped. The site administrator posted a quote that I took issue with and a debate ensued. She said I brought her down (ouch) and deleted the debate. I wasn’t ejected YET from the group.

This is the quote that she ‘loves’:

“Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination. Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows. Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul. If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic. Authenticity is invaluable; originality is nonexistent.”
Jim Jarmusch

I guess I personalize my own time and worry and love and thought process and product so much that I saw this quote with no humor, with no understanding, and it made me cringe. I don’t understand what’s going on in my head these days, but it’s not pretty. I think I’d better go back to my Happy Women paintings and stop being a total bitch.

“Yes dear, that’s right dear, of course dear…..”

This entry was published on February 2, 2013 at 11:00 am. It’s filed under art, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

