A New Year, New Possibilities, and Art

img015
It’s a new year, and so I have decided on two important ways to make my life better, and in so doing maybe I can help to make someone else’s better. My first is to make no resolutions. Why would a new year change my bad habits? I don’t want to set myself up for failure, or make a promise I probably won’t keep. My second is to begin the day working on art. If it’s Ebay, Etsy, the art table… whatever it is, put art in the first thing, even on a work day going to the office. Art has too long been a priority in my heart but not in my day.
I’m so glad the Christmas holidays are over. While I sold some painting and made some new connections, I gave away so many more. On the one hand it makes my heart happy, on the other I’m living in a house with the thermostat set at 57 and I’m freezing. And of course, I’m so grateful to have a house it pains me to cry about it.
The fog has most definitely lifted. My heart is lighter, there’s no speck of loneliness, or sorrow. There’s only the art and the unending hope that 2013 will be a fruitful and satisfying year.
OH YES, and the music! I’ve put music back in my life. I listen to music, new and old, while I work. It’s so uplifting. Yeah, still have a crush on that Nick Cave music too.

This entry was published on January 6, 2013 at 9:48 am. It’s filed under art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

