Momma

Today would have been my mother’s birthday. She died 20 years ago, but I think of her nearly every day. I’m a mother of three young adults. I always say I live with no regrets, but it isn’t true. I regret that I may not have made my mother feel loved because I didn’t visit her enough or call enough. I hope and pray that my children will never feel like I’m a nuisance to them, or feel they’re unimportant to me. I think I treated my mom that way. My children were small, and I was focused on building the future. I wish I’d been more mature. I took my mom for granted. I was, and am, too self centered to figure it out. I never felt important to her. I never felt that maybe it would have made my mom happy to see me more. Ugh, I hope you don’t have regrets.

image

This entry was published on September 26, 2012 at 8:06 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

