Autumn…

Tomorrow is the Dorchester Showcase. I take my art and hope people will buy it. It’s always difficult to face the public. Much easier to be here posting about it, lol.
I am 54 years old. Since I was a little girl I’ve had the dream of being a working artist. Why did I give up my dream? Because I wasn’t brave. Because I thought I needed someone to have faith in me because I didn’t have faith in myself. To be my age and still pursuing this elusive vision of what my life should be like… Well I finally realized I alone had to make it happen. I’m
shy, I have no art training, and I’m my sole support. So here I am. On another note, I’ve sold my art to some amazing people from an exotic dancer, to artists, to the former
Governor of Kentucky. I’ve donated work to the Chesapeake Children’s Museum, Genesis Healthcare, school and church plays, and maybe now is my time.
Thankfully giving up the dream meant having 3 wonderful children who DO have faith in me. Is anyone wondering when I’m going to write about the dingleberries!?

image

This entry was published on September 22, 2012 at 9:57 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Autumn…

  1. Reblogged this on Voiceless in America and commented:
    Lovely! Best to you at the Dorchester Showcase.

Leave a Reply

